Mt Arapiles

. . . Keep your life at arm’s length

Chin up, train and smile

and pitch your tent among the Gods

at the place they call the Piles.

 

– Mike Law

 

Right now, as I sit at home contemplating my one day off before ten days of hectic work and study, a bunch of my friends are chilling at the Pines campground, contemplating ten days of climbing, bouldering, billabong swimming and stumpy-bothering. This, along with the fact that I’m reading Law Unto Himself* by Mike Law at the moment, inspired me to share a few photos of climbing and dirtbagging at Arapiles over the past six years.

 

Arapiles has a hold over me and I’m not alone. Today in the mundanity of daily life, just taking a moment to revisit the elation, terror, pride, panic and pure fun of climbing there fills me with peace. If you are a climber and you haven’t climbed at Araps, what can I say? Do it.

 

* a new book by Mike Law, one of Australia’s most illustrious and irreverent climbers. It’s a crazy book filled with super-understated stories of wild climbing adventures and misadventures. An awesome read.

3 responses to “Mt Arapiles

  1. Pingback: Meditations on Life, Laughter and The Squeeze Test | Covering Ground·

Leave a Reply

