The Wisdom of Einstein

I always find it a bit of a challenge coming back to the city after a trip. After the initial excitement of first showers and catching up with friends and family it’s back to the old familiar grind – responsibilities and timetables, crowds and lists of things to do. Less than a week ago I was in Tasmania amidst the mountains.  Maybe it was snowing, a coal fire was burning in the pot-bellied stove, pademelons scratched around outside, the hut was made of wood. Today I sit in a crème coloured room with the TV on mute, vaguely distracted by bright colours dancing on the walls as I stare at this screen and write.  The silent grandeur of the wilderness feels impossibly distant, but the memory of it makes me smile. 

I am working on a series of blog posts about my recent trip along the Overland Track in Tassie. It’s coming soon, but for now here’s one of my favourite quotes about living life outdoors and why we do it, why we crave that connection and seek those quiet corners of the world. Over the years I’ve collected a bunch of quotes to remind me why I venture out and leave this crème comfort and the Big Bang Theory behind. I’m going to share them here from time to time. Maybe they’ll kindle the same wonderment and passion in you as they do in me. (Funny, it’s hard to write ‘kindle’ now without thinking of that e-reader thing . . . )!

What has brought them to the temple . . . No single answer will cover . . . Escape from everyday life, with its painful crudity and hopeless dreariness, from the fetters of one’s own shifting desires. A finely tempered nature longs to escape from his noisy cramped surroundings into the silence of the high mountains where the eye ranges freely through the still, pure air and fondly traces out the restful contours apparently built for eternity.” – Albert Einstein 1918

DSC_0497

Ladakh, India

One response to “The Wisdom of Einstein

  1. Nice thoughts. For me it’s about the 3P’s: peace from city noise and bustle and complexity; perspective of the vistas and recognition of how small man/woman is in the big picture; and “preciation” of the beauty of nature and other life forms, that don’t get much of a look in in our cities.

Leave a Reply

